Collins and Shyng receive 2009 awards for excellence in Clinical Education

February 10, 2010 – The School of Audiology and Speech Sciences (SASS) awarded clinical faculty members Grace Shyng and Dina Collins the first Noelle Lamb Award in Audiology and the Elizabeth MacLeod Award in Speech-Language Pathology, respectively.

In a simple ceremony at the Friedman Building headed by SASS Director Valter Ciocca, and faculty emeriti Noelle Lamb and Elizabeth MacLeod, Shyng and Collins each received personal plaques in recognition of their excellence in clinical education.

The awards are named after two of the School’s emeriti faculty, Lamb and MacLeod, who had spearheaded and developed the School’s clinical education program, which provides students with clinical placements in British Columbia and around Canada, as part of the School’s M.Sc. curriculum.

Wall plaques, which list yearly awardees’ names, were also unveiled at the School.

Others present at the event were Clinical Coordinators Lisa Avery and Sharon Adelman, as well as some faculty members and staff of the School.